Magnolia’s Vanilla Cupcakes (#77) with Vanilla Buttercream (#78)

““Everyone was always asking us which was the most popular cupcake at the bakery. Most people were surprised that it was what we called the vanilla vanilla—the vanilla cupcake with the vanilla icing (and the most popular color for the icing was pink).”

Excerpt From: Jennifer Appel. “The Complete Magnolia Bakery Cookbook.” iBooks. https://itun.es/us/idq2G.l

IMG_1567

RECIPE LINK

My daughter and I baked these beauties last weekend. School work was caught up (or so it seemed), we had everything we needed and it just seemed like the right thing to do. After all, this recipe represented 50% of the book completed for my project – which is obviously running behind schedule —- but still running.

Nothing unusual – butter, sugar. “You know the routine.”

IMG_1566

Only this time, we multiplied by 3.

Do the math: 12 x 2 x 3 =

IMG_1564

What to do with 72 cupcakes?

Have a party! Make new friends! Make an old friend smile!

I think that cupcakes are the the quintessential “smile desert”.

See?!

IMG_1584 copy

DETOURS AND LEARNING CURVES?

  1. Bananas: Not all of the 72 cupcakes were simply vanilla. I had some bananas that were headed south, so we threw them into the mix of a later batch. Every one brought a smile to someone’s face.
  2. SIGNATURE FROSTING DESIGN ! Oh no!@#$#! Although I need to develop my own style, I thought I’d try to copy the Magnolia signature style. It ain’t that easy. According to a Magnolia baker, it requires about 40 hours to master the style. Well, I’ve put in one of those hours.
  3. FROSTING QUALITY – Even though everyone said they were great (Thank you all of you sweethearts!), I know that the icing was not what it needs to be. Still too grainy and not stiff enough. What to do? Research tells me that I need to 1) beat the butter-sugar longer, 2) don’t be afraid of very soft butter, 3) let it sit for a few hours. I’ll let you know in a future post.511g9RsiBWL__SL500_AA300_
Leave a Reply

